Mediation

Mediation and Mediation-style Counseling

IN DETAIL

What is Mediation?

Balance: Mediation brings balance to relationships where, at first glance, there no longer seems to be a balanced solution.

Mediation is a confidential process in which the parties to a conflict settle their dispute independently and voluntarily with the help of a neutral, and impartial third party bound by confidentiality—the mediator.

Mediation is an alternative to dispute resolution in court or arbitration. Mediation can also be used to resolve conflicts that stand in the way of success within the company or the relationship between business partners.

The mediator leads the process, moderates the discussions, and ensures a structured process. They promote communication between the parties in a protected and strictly confidential discussion framework. However, a mediator does not make any substantive decisions on the matter itself, as the solution is worked out by the parties under the professional guidance of the mediator. A solution that one of the parties does not want is therefore impossible.

Your Mediator

Dr. Claudio Arturo Business Mediator and Attorney

Claudio Arturo is a partner at PFKA, attorney, and business mediator in Vienna. He is a civil-law mediator registered with the Austrian Federal Ministry of Justice. Claudio learned what mediation is in 1997 in Berkeley (USA) and was immediately enthusiastic about the method. He has been a trained mediator since 2002 and regularly works as a business mediator.

For Claudio, mediation is the sustainable dispute resolution method because it uses the relationship “resource” without depleting it.

Typical issues for which Claudio Arturo is tasked to act as mediator:

  • Company succession
  • Conflicts between competitors
  • Shareholder conflicts
  • Disputes arising from long-term contractual relationships.

Claudio Arturo is often mandated to provide mediation support for issues where there are no open conflicts, with a view to shaping a situation or corporate constellation such that future conflicts can be avoided—for example in the case of company succession, mergers, or among shareholders. This is in analogy to preventive medicine, where care is taken to ensure that people do not fall ill in the first place, rather than attempting a costly and risky recovery later on. The same principle also applies to (business) relationships.

  • Civil-law mediator registered with the Federal Ministry of Justice in accordance with the Austrian Civil Law Mediation Act, since 2004
  • Training in business mediation at AVM, Lawyers’ Association for Mediation and Cooperative Negotiation 2001-2002
  • ISBM, International School on Business Mediation, 2008 and 2012: Commercial mediation, family business
  • Workshops for ELSA Vienna Dispute Resolution Academy and ELSA Vienna Summer Law School, 2017, 2018, and 2019
  • Lecture for the Vienna Economic Chamber 04/2023: “Miracle cure mediation”—When is mediation indicated? Mediation as an efficient, quick, and cost-effective dispute resolution method
  • Webinar for the Bolzano Chamber of Commerce 11/2023: Mediation—criteria for conflict evaluation / motivation for qualified participation
  • VIAC – Member of the Mediation Advisory Board
  • UIA Mediation Commission – former Vice President
  • UIA Arbitration Commission
  • ArbAut, Austrian Association for Arbitration
  • AVM, Lawyers’ Association for Mediation and Cooperative Negotiation

More about Dr. Claudio Arturo ->

Where Is Mediation Particularly Suitable?

Due to its characteristics, mediation is particularly suitable for the following conflict scenarios:

  • Conflicts between shareholders
  • Pre- and post-M&A conflicts
  • Conflicts in connection with restructuring or reorganization
  • Conflicts between employees
  • Conflicts between employees and managers
  • Conflicts along the supply chain (raw material supplier, producer, wholesaler, customers)
  • Conflicts between competitors
  • Inheritance conflicts, in particular with companies or business shares in the estate
  • Company succession or business transfer within the family to the next generation or an external party
  • Product development e.g. technology projects are “out of time/budget”
  • Building and planning conflicts.

What Are the Advantages and Characteristics of Mediation?

Here you will find more information about the mediation process and its advantages and differences compared to other methods of dispute resolution.

1. Accountable solution: The parties themselves, rather than a third party, make the decision: An accountable consensus is the result. If a decision is made by a court or arbitration tribunal, the parties must ultimately comply with the judgment. Even a court settlement is, in qualitative terms, very different from a mediated solution, as it is usually based on a mere convergence of positions and there is often judicial pressure to reach a settlement in order to resolve the dispute quickly. This hardly eliminates the underlying problems. A settlement is often a liability for both sides, whereas a mediation result is often an asset for all parties involved.

2. Interest-based solution: The true interests and needs of the parties, which often underly the positions expressed, can be taken into account in mediation. In court proceedings, on the other hand, positions are merely put forward and the differences are emphasized, rather than minimized, in order to enforce one’s own rights.

3. Short duration: Mediation is characterized by a short duration of proceedings compared to judicial and arbitration proceedings. A solution can often be reached within a single session, or within a few weeks in the case of more difficult issues.

4. Low costs: The parties generally have relatively low costs. Since litigation costs such as court fees, expert witness fees, and lawyers’ fees are usually determined by the amount in dispute and the duration of proceedings, the costs can be extremely high, especially in the case of protracted litigation. For the losing party, the result is also undesirable. Mediation, on the other hand, offers a cost-effective opportunity for an independent solution to the conflict that benefits all parties involved.

5. Voluntary in nature: Mediation is voluntary. Each party can terminate the mediation process if they no longer wish to continue.

6. All doors remain open: If mediation does not bring about a solution or one party does not want to continue, court litigation is still an option. The parties have only invested a few days, incurred manageable costs, and expended a little energy, but have not relinquished any rights. If, on the other hand, a court case is launched immediately, the positions usually become entrenched quickly and a subsequent consensus-based solution becomes much more difficult.

7. No scorched earth: If an agreement is reached through mediation, future cooperation between the parties remains possible, whereas in litigation the basis for future constructive cooperation is usually eroded and ultimately lost.

8. Confidentiality: Mediation is a confidential process, whereas court proceedings are public. Mediation can prevent the conflict from becoming public knowledge, while at the same time averting potential damage to the parties’ image.

9. No time-consuming establishment of facts: Since mediation focuses on the future and not on the past, there is no need to assign guilt. There is therefore no need to establish facts as in court proceedings when evidence is taken. On the one hand, this saves costs, as no expensive expert reports have to be drawn up, and on the other hand it saves a lot of internal resources and hence time and energy.

10. Focus on the future: The solution reached is usually an agreement for the future, whereas in court-based conflict resolution, decisions are made about what has already happened. The agreement reached through mediation is intended to ensure a viable future relationship between the parties

Scroll to Top

Mediation

Mediation und mediative Beratung

IM DETAIL

Was ist Mediation?

Balance: Durch Mediation werden Beziehungen ins Gleichgewicht gebracht, bei denen es auf den ersten Blick scheinbar keine ausgewogene Lösung mehr gibt.

Mediation ist ein vertrauliches Verfahren, in welchem die Konfliktparteien ihre Meinungsverschiedenheiten mit der Hilfe eines neutralen, verschwiegenen und allparteilichen Dritten – dem Mediator – eigenverantwortlich und freiwillig regeln.

Mediation ist eine Alternative zur gerichtlichen bzw. schiedsgerichtlichen Konfliktregelung. Mit Mediation können auch Konflikte gelöst werden, die dem Erfolg im Unternehmen oder der Beziehung zwischen Geschäftspartnern im Wege stehen.

Der Mediator leitet das Verfahren, moderiert die Gespräche und sorgt für einen strukturierten Ablauf. Er fördert die Kommunikation zwischen den Parteien im geschützten und streng vertraulichen Gesprächsrahmen. Ein Mediator trifft aber keine inhaltliche Entscheidung in der Sache selbst, denn die Lösung wird von den Parteien unter der professionellen Anleitung des Mediators erarbeitet. Eine Lösung, die eine der Parteien nicht will, ist daher unmöglich.

Ihr Mediator

Dr. Claudio Arturo Wirtschaftsmediator und Rechtsanwalt

Claudio Arturo ist Partner bei PFKA, Rechtsanwalt und Wirtschaftsmediator in Wien. Er ist eingetragener Zivilrechtsmediator bei Bundesministerium für Justiz. Claudio hat bereits 1997 in Berkeley (USA) gelernt was Mediation ist, und war von der Methode sofort begeistert. Seit 2002 ist er ausgebildeter Mediator und regelmäßig als Wirtschaftsmediator tätig.

Für Claudio ist die Mediation die nachhaltige Konfliktregelungsmethode, weil sie die „Ressource Beziehung“ nutzt, ohne sie zu verbrauchen.

Typische Themen bei denen Claudio Arturo als Mediator beauftragt wird:

  • Unternehmensnachfolge
  • Konflikte zwischen Mittbewerbern
  • Gesellschafterkonflikte
  • Streitigkeiten aus langfristigen Vertragsbeziehungen.

Oft wird Claudio Arturo mandatiert, um mit mediativen Mitteln bei Themen zu unterstützen, wo es gar keine offenen Konflikte gibt, um eine Situation oder Unternehmenskonstellation so zu gestalten, dass künftige Konflikte vermieden werden. ZB bei Unternehmensnachfolge oder Zusammenschlüssen oder zwischen Gesellschaftern. Ähnlich wie in der präventiven Medizin, wo darauf geachtet wird, dass Menschen erst gar nicht erkranken, statt später aufwendig und risikoreich eine Genesung zu versuchen. Das gleiche Prinzip gilt auch bei (Geschäfts-)Beziehungen.

  • Eingetragener Zivilrechtsmediator bei Bundesministerium für Justiz gem. Zivilrechts-Mediations-Gesetz, seit 2004
  • Ausbildung Wirtschaftsmediation beim AVM, (Anwaltlicher Verein für Mediation und kooperatives Verhandeln), 2001-2002
  • ISBM, (International School on Business Mediation), 2008 und 2012: Wirtschaftsmediation, Familienunternehmen
  • Workshops für ELSA Vienna Dispute Resolution Academy und ELSA Vienna Summer Law School, 2017, 2018 and 2019
  • Vortrag für die WKO Wien 04/2023: „Wundermittel Mediation“ – Wann ist Mediation indiziert? Mediation als effiziente, rasche & kostengünstige Streitbeilegungsmethode
  • Webinar für die Handelskammer Bozen 11/2023: Mediation – Kriterien für die Konfliktevaluierung / Motivation der Personen zur qualifizierten Teilnahme
  • VIAC – Mitglied des Mediationsbeirates
  • UIA Mediation Commission – ehem. Vizepräsident
  • UIA Arbitration Commission
  • ArbAut, Austrian Association for Arbitration
  • AVM, Anwaltlicher Verein für Mediation und cooperatives Verhandeln

Mehr zu Dr. Claudio Arturo ->

Wo eignet sich Mediation besonders gut?

Mediation eignet sich aufgrund ihrer Eigenschaften besonders bei diesen Konfliktthemen:

  • Konflikte zwischen Gesellschaftern
  • Pre- und post-M&A-Konflikte
  • Konflikte iZm Umstrukturierungen oder Sanierungen
  • Konflikte zwischen Mitarbeitern
  • Konflikte zwischen Mitarbeitern und Führungskräften
  • Konflikte entlang der Lieferkette (Rohstofflieferant, Produzent, Großhändler, Kunden)
  • Konflikte zwischen Wettbewerbern
  • Erbschaftskonflikte insb. mit Unternehmen oder Geschäftsanteilen im Nachlass
  • Unternehmensnachfolge bzw. Betriebsübergabe in der Familie in die nächste Generation oder extern
  • Produktentwicklung z.B. Technologieprojekte sind „out of time/-budget“
  • Bau- und Planungskonflikte

Welche Vorteile und Eigenschaften hat Mediation?

Hier finden Sie nähere Informationen zum Mediationsverfahren und dessen Vorteilen bzw. den Unterschieden gegenüber anderen Methoden der Konfliktlösung.

1. Eigenverantwortliche Lösung: Die Parteien selbst und nicht ein Dritter, treffen die Entscheidung: Ein selbstveranworteter Konsens ist das Ergebnis. Bei einer Entscheidung durch ein Gericht oder Schiedsgericht müssen sich die Parteien letztlich dem Urteil eines Dritten fügen. Selbst ein gerichtlicher Vergleich unterscheidet sich qualitativ stark von einer mediativen Regelung, da er üblicherweise auf einem bloßen Zusammenrücken der Positionen beruht und oft ein richterlicher Vergleichsdruck zum Zweck der raschen Streitbeilegung besteht. Die zugrundeliegenden Probleme werden dadurch kaum beseitigt. Ein Vergleich ist oft ein Minus für beide Seiten, ein Mediationsergebnis oft ein Plus für alle Beteiligten.

2. Interessenbasierte Lösung: Die wahren Interessen und Bedürfnisse der Parteien, die oft hinter den geäußerten Positionen stehen, können bei der Mediation berücksichtigt werden. Im Gerichtsverfahren werden hingegen lediglich Positionen vorgetragen und die Gegensätze zur Durchsetzung der eigenen Rechte noch betont, anstatt entschärft.

3. Kurze Dauer: Mediation zeichnet sich durch eine – im Vergleich zur gerichtlichen und auch schiedsgerichtlichen Konfliktaustragung – kurze Verfahrensdauer aus. Eine Lösung kann oft schon innerhalb einer einzigen Sitzung, bei schwierigeren Themen innerhalb weniger Wochen, erzielt werden.

4. Geringe Kosten: Die Parteien haben i.d.R. verhältnismäßig geringe Kosten. Da sich Prozesskosten wie Gerichtsgebühren, Sachverständigen- und Anwaltskosten üblicherweise nach Streitwert und Dauer eines Verfahrens bemessen, können vor allem bei langwieriger Prozessführung enorm hohe Kosten anfallen. Für die unterliegende Partei, ist auch noch das Ergebnis unerwünscht. Mediation bietet hingegen eine kostengünstige Chance für eine eigenverantwortliche Lösung des Konflikts, die allen Beteiligten zugutekommt.

5. Freiwilligkeit: Mediation ist von Freiwilligkeit geprägt. Jede Partei kann das Mediationsverfahren beenden, wenn sie nicht mehr weitermachen will.

6. Alle Türen bleiben offen: Wenn die Mediation keine Lösung herbeiführt oder eine Partei nicht weitermachen will, steht der Weg zu Gericht nach wie vor offen. Die Parteien haben nur einige Tage, überschaubare Kosten und ein wenig Energie investiert, haben sich aber keiner Rechte begeben. Beginnt man hingegen sofort einen Gerichtsprozess, verhärten sich die Fronten im Regelfall rasch und eine spätere Konsenslösung wird deutlich erschwert.

7. Keine verbrannte Erde: Kommt es zu einer Einigung mittels Mediation bleibt eine zukünftige Zusammenarbeit der Parteien weiterhin möglich, während bei Prozessführung normalerweise die Basis für eine künftige konstruktive Zusammenarbeit verloren geht.

8. Vertraulichkeit: Mediation ist ein vertrauliches Verfahren, ein Gerichtsverfahren ist hingegen öffentlich. Durch Mediation kann ein öffentliches Bekanntwerden des Konflikts unterbunden werden und damit zugleich ein möglicher Imageschaden für die Parteien verhindert werden.

9. Keine aufwendige Sachverhaltsklärung: Weil die Mediation den Blick in die Zukunft richtet und nicht in die Vergangenheit, muss keine Schuld zugewiesen werden. Daher ist keine Tatsachenfeststellung wie im gerichtlichen Beweisverfahren notwendig. Das spart einerseits Kosten, da keine teuren Gutachten erstellt werden müssen, und andererseits eine Menge an internen Ressourcen und somit Zeit und Energie.

10. Zukunftsorientierung: Die erarbeitete Lösung stellt i.d.R. eine Vereinbarung für die Zukunft dar, während bei gerichtlicher Konfliktbeilegung über bereits Vergangenes entschieden wird. Die mediativ erzielte Einigung soll eine künftig lebbare Beziehung zwischen den Parteien gewährleisten.

Nach oben scrollen